President's Commission on Student Success

The President’s Commission on Student Retention has provided great insight into the practices that have improved the retention of our students.  Retention addresses one aspect of student success.  In order to provide comprehensive pathways for student success, multiple components need to be addressed. The purpose of the President’s Commission on Student Success will encompass opportunities to recruit, retain and graduate our students to optimize their success while at Murray State and in their futures.  This is a time to investigate new strategies with short- and long-term benefits.  Explore, dream and discover – as Mark Twain courageously encourages.


The charge of the Student Success Commission is to provide leadership for planning, developing and improving Murray State University’s efforts across all areas of the University in order to recruit, retain and graduate students whether they are incoming freshmen, transfers or graduate students.  Within this purpose, the University must promote and sustain strategic focus on opportunities for the students to grow and learn while striving to attain their degrees.

Specific Goals

  1. Develop clearly-defined four-year pathways for graduation for all students.
  2. Investigate advising systems, recognize advising components in which Murray State has excelled, review best practices and revise advising model to increase student success.
  3. Reassess summer school and academic year programming for student needs with emphasis on cost-benefit analysis.
  4. Enhance student progression within the context of the 30-60-90 credit hour production in a timely framework for the student.
  5. Continue review and implementation of possible changes for University Studies courses in alignment with accreditation and Council on Postsecondary Education requirements.
  6. Connect co-curricular components to student success with emphasis on student involvement with particular accentuation on residential colleges.
  7. Develop strategies for retention and graduation rates to be the same for individualized groups and the entire student body.

The Co-chairs of the Commission will be the Vice President for Student Affairs and the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs.  They will impart the goals to the group and to any subcommittees formed.  The Assistant Director of Retention will serve as the facilitator/leader to coordinate the structure of the meetings and to develop pathways for the Commission to complete its work.  The Commission will be comprised of an Executive Committee and that Committee will develop subgroups as appropriate.  When a subgroup is no longer viable or another needs to be formed, the Executive Committee will take appropriate action to reorganize the structure for efficient and effective work. 

The members of the 2017-18 Executive Committee are Don Robertson, Mark Arant, Renae Duncan, Peggy Whaley, Fred Dietz, Dave Whaley and Barbara Washington.