Get Started

Teaching online does require more work on the front end compared to a face-to-face course. Let us show you the tools and strategies to make the best use of your time!

Online teaching tools 

Teaching online: What you need to know

Online learning represents roughly 14 percent of the credit hours in which students enroll at Murray State University, which is on par with the national average. While we do have some degree programs and certificates that are completely online, most Murray State students, especially undergraduates, take an online course even if they reside in Murray or close to a regional campus. 

Are you ready to teach online? 

When you think of online learning, you may assume that you only need to be an expert with technology. Yes, technology is important, but the ability to build a virtual classroom that allows your students engage with the material and their classmates is important. You must be able to make yourself “real” and available to online learners! Take the time to complete this self-assessment from Penn State to see if you are ready to teach online. The assessment covers categories proven to determine success in online teaching: organization and time management, communicating online, teaching, and technical skills. You will be e-mailed a detailed evaluation after you complete the questions.

What is an online course at Murray State?

We have a number of options available for online teaching and learning at Murray State University. Historically, our web-based online courses have been offered asynchronously, and carry an additional fee. A number of faculty have augmented their face-to-face courses with online modules and activities, resulting in hybrid course designs. A number of programs have started using Zoom or other web conference platforms to facilitate synchronous online courses without physically meeting in a classroom. Decisions about course modality for online offerings are made collaboratively within programs and in consultation with department chairs.

Is online learning effective? 

There is research showing that online learning can be just as effective as in-class learning. In some cases, it has been shown to be more effective! See the two articles below for more details. 

From Online vs In-Class: Are We Asking the Wrong Question? “As online classes (and online education in general) have become more popular, people are asking the question: how effective is online learning in comparison to in-class learning?" There have been various discussions on the topic, highlighting the benefits and drawbacks for each of the educational delivery methods; however, is it possible that we are simply asking the wrong question?”

From Are Online Courses Better Than Traditional Classroom Courses? “In today's age of modern technology, a large portion of education occurs online. But are online courses better than classroom courses? What are the differences?”

Policies and compensation

Did you know online instructors are eligible to receive a development stipend when you create a course that will be taught online regularly? Or, that there are no minimum enrollments required to offer an online course? View all policies and procedures related to online learning at www.murraystate.edu/onlineinstructors or contact Camela Ramey in the Office of the Provost at cramey@murraystate.edu or 270.809.3383.

Still have questions?

We have a team at Murray State who is eager to help! If you are unsure of who you need to talk to, e-mail msu.online@murraystate.edu and we will get you in contact with the right person!

Brian Bourke (chair of Online Champions), College of Education and Human Services, bbourke@murraystate.edu

Rupkatha Bardhan, Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology, rbardhan@murraystate.edu

Katherine Farmer, University Libraries, kfarmer@murraystate.edu

Katy Garth, School of Nursing and Health Professions, kgarth@murraystate.edu

Jennifer Morrison, College of Humanities and Fine Arts, jmorrison5@murraystate.edu

Michelle Santiago, Hutson School of Agriculture, msantiago1@murraystate.edu

Lisa Schmidt, Center for Adult and Regional Education, lschmidt@murraystate.edu

Melony Shemberger, Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business, mshemberger@murraystate.edu

Firm Faith Watson, Faculty Development Center, fwatson2@murraystate.edu