Faculty & Staff

Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences Faculty & Staff


Front left: Dr. Qiaofeng (Robin) Zhang, Dr. Marcie Venter, Dr. Michelle Casey, Dr. Bassil El Masri, Mr. Michael Busby, Mr. W. David Jones, Dr. Sung-ho Hong
Back left: Dr. Haluk Cetin, Dr. Gary Stinchcomb, Mrs. Jane Benson, Dr. Anthony Ortmann

contact-pic
Dr. Haluk Cetin
Professor
Graduate Coordinator

Research Interests: Remote sensing;
image processing; geographic information 
systems (GIS); geology; geophysics
314 Blackburn Science
270.809.2085
hcetin@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Dr. Bassil El Masri
Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Biogeography; remote
sensing of vegetation; ecosystem modeling
415 Blackburn Science
270.809.3110
belmasri@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Dr. Sung-ho Hong
Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Hydrogeology; remote sensing
303 Blackburn Science
270.809.6319
shong4@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Dr. Anthony Ortmann
Associate Professor
Director, Archaeology Lab

Research Interests: North American 
archaeology; prehistory of the 
southeastern U.S
355 Blackburn Science
270.809.6755
aortmann@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Dr. Gary Stinchcomb
Assistant Professor
(Jointly appointed to Watershed Studies
Institute)

Research Interests: Soils; paleosols;
quaternary; geology; geomorphology;
paleoenvironment
432-A Blackburn Science
270.809.6761
gstinchcomb@murraystate.edu
Stinchcomb Lab
Dr. Marcie L. Venter
Dr. Marcie L. Venter
Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Archaeology and colonial
history of Mexico and the Caribbean; cultural
resource management; heritage tourism and
development; ceramic ecology;
human-environmental interactions;
culture contact studies; anthropology of 
borderlands
337 Blackburn Science
270.809.3457
mventer@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Dr. Qiaofeng (Robin) Zhang
Chair and Professor

Research Interests: GIS and remote sensing
application in land use and land cover change;
urban development; resource management and
landscape ecology; information extraction from
remotely sensed data; geoscience education
335 Blackburn Science
270.809-6760
qzhang@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Jane L. Benson
Lecturer/Geospatial Analyst
Watershed Studies Institute

Research Interests: Remote sensing; GIS
418-A Blackburn Science
270.809.3106
jbenson1@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Michael Busby
Lecturer/Coordinator of GIS

Research Interests: GIS; geography; education
410 Blackburn Science
270.809.3370
mbusby@murraystate.edu

 

Staff

contact-pic
Tracie Russo
Administrative Assistant

Responsible For: Management; coordination;
public relations; reporting for Earth and
Environmental Sciences
334 Blackburn Science
270.809.2591
trusso@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
W. David Jones
GIS-Data Services Analyst

GIS applications development, database management, 
coordination, and training for the Southern Region of
the US Forest Service
422 Blackburn Science
270.809.6301
wjones@murraystate.edu
wdjones@fs.fed.us