Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology

Six departments in the Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology prepare students for careers in a variety of fields with applications like physics, engineering, industrial technology, occupational safety and health, biological sciences, chemistry, wildlife conservation, earth and environmental science, sustainability, telecommunications systems management and so much more. 

Our Mission

The mission of the Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology is to provide quality educational experiences in science, mathematics, engineering, and technology at the undergraduate and graduate levels through excellent instruction, pure and applied research, and outreach to the service region.


Undergraduate Programs



Earth and Environmental Sciences

Institute of Engineering

Mathematics and Statistics

Occupational Safety and Health


Información disponible en español

Graduate Programs

At a glance

in collegiate scholarships
available for 2018-19
students to faculty ratio
icon graduation cap
6 departments
Over 60 academic programs and tracks
icon globe
more than 250 education abroad programs
In 42 countries
icon light bulb
$3.4 million in grant funds
Received by JCSET in 2017-18

Jesse D. Jones Scholars 

Endowed Professors Appointed

In 2013, Dr. Jesse D. Jones established an endowment to support the appointment of distinguished tenured professors to be recognized for their outstanding teaching effectiveness, scholarly productivity, and engagement with campus and professional constituencies. The endowment guidelines indicate that successful nominees for this award will show continued promise for professional accomplishment resulting in increased visibility and recognition for Murray State and JCSET at the national and international levels, and benefiting the students of Murray State through enhanced learning opportunities.

We congratulate our colleagues for this well-deserved recognition. They represent our college well, and they certainly help achieve Dr. Jones’ generous goal of promoting the best qualities in an outstanding collegiate faculty.

Dr. Terry Derting, Jesse D. Jones Endowed Professor of Biological Sciences

Dr. Derting has a B.A. in biology from Mount Holyoke College in Massachusetts and an M.A. in zoology from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. She earned her Ph.D. in ecology, evolution and organismal biology at Indiana University. She has been at Murray State since 1993, and has been honored with numerous university awards including the Neil Weber Award for Excellence, a Presidential Research Fellowship, a Collegiate Outstanding Research Award and the Provost Faculty Teaching Fellow designation.

Dr. Derting conducts research in two very different fields, physiological ecology and science education. She has received funding in these two fields for more than 25 years from agencies such as the National Science Foundation, the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. She has given over 100 presentations at local, regional, national and international venues, and has more than 40 peer-reviewed publications in high quality journals, as well as numerous reports, book reviews and articles to her credit.

Terry trains her students in conducting research by including them in her own work. She has mentored more than 50 undergraduate researchers, 24 graduate students and three post-doctoral fellows. Her students have gone on to professional schools in medicine, pharmacy, dentistry, law, and M.S. and Ph.D. programs across the country.

Dr. Maeve McCarthy, Jesse D. Jones Endowed Professor of Mathematics

Dr. McCarthy received her bachelor’s degree in applied mathematics and master’s in mathematical sciences from the National University of Ireland in Galway. She holds the M.A and Ph.D. degrees in computational and applied mathematics from Rice University. She joined the Murray State faculty in 1998.

Dr. McCarthy is the recipient of several awards at Murray State, including the Presidential Research Fellowship and the Neil Weber Award for Excellence at Murray, and received an Academic Achievement Award from Kentucky’s House of Representatives.

Maeve previously served as the executive director of the Association for Women in Mathematics and has been responsible for bringing a number of external grants to her department. Since arriving at Murray State, she has had 22 refereed research publications and another submitted, 12 non-refereed publications and over 50 conference presentations and 12 invited presentations. In addition, Maeve has built a substantial record of service to the university and her profession.