Faculty and Staff

Full-time Faculty

contact-pic
Michael Bordieri
Associate Professor
PhD, University of Mississippi
MS, Southern Illinois University Carbondale
BS, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Research Interests: Psychological flexibility;
applied behavior analysis; contextual behavioral
science, Acceptance and Commitment therapy;
mindfulness
Wells Hall 401C
mbordieri@murraystate.edu
Phone: 270.809.2963
More information & vitae
contact-pic
Patrick Cushen
Associate Professor
PhD, University of Illinois at Chicago
MA, University of Illinois at Chicago
BA, Saint Louis University
Research Interests: Problem solving; executive
control; creativity & insight; working memory
capacity
Wells Hall 205
pcushen@murraystate.edu
Phone: 270.809.2859
More information & vitae
contact-pic
Jana Hackathorn
Associate Professor
PhD, Saint Louis University
MA, University of St. Mary
BA, Park University
Research Interests:  Social relationships, incl. 
romantic relationship processes; scholarship
of teaching & learning, particularly  teaching
effectiveness in "dreaded" courses like statistics
Wells Hall 202
jhackathorn@murraystate.edu
Phone: 270.809.2857
More information & vitae
Dr. Gage Jordan
Gage Jordan
Assistant Professor
PhD, Mississippi State University
MS, Mississippi State University
BS, Mississippi State University
Research Interests:  Network analysis; reward 
 devaluation theory; anhedonia; fear of positive 
evaluation & happiness; grandiose & vulnerable
narcissism
Wells Hall 401A
djordan8@murraystate.edu
Phone: 270.809.2858
More information & vitae
contact-pic
Amanda Watson Joyce
Associate Professor
PhD, Virginia Tech
MS, Virginia Tech
BS and BA, University of North Carolina Charlotte
Research Interests:  Childhood brain &  cognitive
development; temperament; social & academic
outcomes of early self-regulation
Wells Hall 204
awatson22@murraystate.edu
Phone: 270.809.2097
More information & vitae
 
Laura Liljequist
Professor
PhD, University of South Florida
MA, University of South Florida
BA, DePauw University
Research Interests: Assessment and psychometrics;
family dynamics; parenting
Wells Hall 401B
lliljequist@murraystate.edu
Phone: 270.809.2990
More information & vitae
 EMalm
Esther Malm
Assistant Professor
PhD, Georgia State University
MPhil, University of Ghana
BSc, University of Ghana
Research Interests: Family contexts & dynamics;
child and adolescent risk and resilience factors;
peer victimization; cross-cultural research 
Wells Hall 401D
emalm@murraystate.edu
Phone: 270.809.6360
More information and vitae
 Tracey Garcia McCue
Tracey Garcia McCue
Assistant Professor
PhD, Florida International University
MS, Florida International University
BA, Florida International University
Research Interests: Adolescents and young adults;
risk (substance use, problem gambling, risky sexual
behavior) and protective behaviors; using technology
in preventions & interventions; person & context
interactions; evaluating efficacy & effectiveness in
preventions & interventions;  ethnicity, ethnic identity,
& identity's influence on risk, protective behavior,
interventions, and preventions
Wells Hall 211A
tmccue@murraystate.edu
Phone: 270.809.2460
More information and vitae
contact-pic
Sean Rife
Associate Professor
PhD, Kent State University
MA, East Tennessee State University
BS, North Georgia College and State University
AA, Gainesville State College
Research Interests: Social media; social support;
interpersonal relationships; technology and society 
Wells Hall 209
srife1@murraystate.edu
Phone: 270.809.4404
More information & vitae
Paula Waddill
Paula Waddill
Professor and Department Chair
PhD, Purdue University
MS, University of Tennessee
BS, Oklahoma State University
Research Interests: Episodic memory; discourse
processing; memory representations; forensic and
educational applications of memory research
Wells Hall 212
pwaddill@murraystate.edu
Phone: 270.809.3539
More information & vitae
contact-pic
Dan Wann
Professor
PhD, University of Kansas
MS, Emporia State University
BS, Baker University
Research Interests:  Psychology of sport fandom; sport
psychology; social well-being; coping strategies;
aggression
Wells Hall 201
dwann@murraystate.edu
Phone: 270.809.2860
More information & vitae
Chrissy Wendel-Shelton
Chrissy Wendel-Shelton
Instructor
ABD, Spalding University
MA, Murray State University
BA, Murray State University
Clinical psychology
Wells Hall 203
cwendel1@murraystate.edu
Phone: 270.809.2317
Vitae

Adjunct Faculty

Kathryn Cornell
Kathryn Cornell
MS, Murray State University
BS, St. Louis University
kcornell@murraystate.edu
Vitae
Becky Nastally
Becky Nastally
PhD, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale
MS, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale
BS, Western Michigan University
bnastally@murraystate.edu
Vitae

Staff

Pan Fredricksen
Administrative Assistant
Department Office
Wells Hall 212
Phone: 270.809.2851
pfredricksen@murraystate.edu
Catie Bates
Administrative Assistant
Psychological Center
Wells Hall 401
Phone: 270.809.2504
cbates2@murraystate.edu