2018-19 Presidential Search

University Profile

Murray State University profileDownload the University Profile



The presidential search to be conducted by the Murray State University Board of Regents will be
national in scope, confidential in deliberations, public at the time finalists are identified and will
honor the University’s commitments to nondiscrimination and equal opportunity. The search
process will be conducted with the utmost integrity.


The search will commence immediately with the expectation that the President-elect will be
chosen no later than May 2019. The newly-appointed President will be expected to assume the
presidency no later than the summer of 2019.


The Chair of the MSU Board of Regents will appoint a ten-member Search Committee
representing the faculty, staff, students and alumni of the University, with five members of the
Search Committee drawn from the membership of the Board of Regents.

  1. The Presidential Search Committee will have full authority to structure its work and
    processes consistent with the timetable and stipulations outlined in this policy
  2. The Presidential Search Committee will be charged to identify at least two, but no
    more than three, candidates to recommend, unranked to the full Board as being the best
    qualified individuals to serve as President.
  3. The Presidential Search Committee will maintain in confidence the names of all
    nominees and applicants, as well as its deliberations.
  4. The designated finalists will be invited to campus to meet with the campus community.
    At least one of those meetings will be an open public forum. A process will be
    structured by which feedback from these meetings will be received by the Board.
  5. Appropriate funding will be set aside to cover the costs of the search process, including
    travel expenses of Search Committee members and the candidates invited for
  6. Consistent with Kentucky Revised Statutes, the Murray State Board of Regents will
    select the next President.

Approved by the Murray State University Board of Regents on December 7, 2018.

Resource Materials

Committee Members

  • Lisa Rudolph, Search Committee Chair
    Lisa is the co-Owner of Rudolph’s, Inc. and Rudolph Freight, Inc. in Murray.  She received both Bachelor of Science in Nursing and Master of Science in Nursing Education degrees from Murray State University.  She and her husband Robbie founded the Four Rivers Foundation, which provides educational-enhancing opportunities for 3,200 students in five western Kentucky districts.
  • Katherine Farmer
    Katherine is the Education Research and Instruction Librarian for Murray State University Libraries and serves as the Faculty Regent.  She is a Mississippi native who currently lives in Murray.
  • Marion Hale
    Marion is currently serving as President of Staff Congress.  She served as President of the Murray Chapter and the Kentucky Division of the International Association of Administrative Professionals.  She is a Murray native and is presently working to complete an advertising degree.
  • Dan Kemp 
    Dan is an attorney and former Mayor of Hopkinsville who has served as a member of the Board of Regents since 2014.  He is a native of Murray and is a Murray State alumnus, class of 1967.
  • Dr. Tim Miller
    Dr. Miller has 47 years of experience in higher education as a teacher and administrator.  He taught accounting at Murray State from 1967 until his retirement in 2010.  He served as MSU’s Interim President twice, in 2006 and again in 2013.  He was officially named MSU’s 12th President in 2014.  He earned his undergraduate and master’s degrees from Murray State University and his Ph.D. at the University of Arkansas.
  • J.T. Payne
    J.T. is the current SGA President and Student Regent. He is an agriculture education major and Henderson County native.
  • Heather Roy
    Heather is the Director of Murray State University’s Madisonville and Henderson campuses.  She is a Webster County native and lives in Dixon.  She earned both her bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Murray State University.
  • Dr. Don Tharpe
    Dr. Tharpe, a native of Mayfield, has a career in association management that spans more than 30 years.  He served as Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of both the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards, Inc. and the Pan American Health and Education Foundation.  He also served as President and CEO of the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation.
  • Dr. Randal Wilson
    Dr. Wilson is Assistant Professor of Educational Studies, Leadership and Counseling and Ed.D. Director in the College of Education and Human Services.

Meeting Dates

  • November 12, 2018 (3 p.m.) – Alexander Hall Auditorium – Room 240
  • November 28, 2018 (4:30 p.m.) – Curris Center Theatre
  • Friday, December 14, 2018 (9 a.m.) – Pogue Library Jesse Stuart Room
  • Friday, February 1, 2019 (9 a.m.) – Pogue Library Jesse Stuart Room (cancelled)
  • Monday, March 4, 2019 (9 a.m.) – Pogue Library Jesse Stuart Room