Contacts

Contact phone numbers

  • Emergencies- 270.809.2222 or 911 from a campus phone
  • Non-Emergencies 270.809.2222
  • Parking Services 270.809.4812
  • Police Administration 270.809.4810

Police Officers

All Murray State University Police officers are certified through the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training. Murray State officers spend 6 months in the Kentucky Law Enforcement Basic Training Academy in Richmond, Kentucky before receiving their certification. All officers have law enforcement authority throughout Calloway County with their primary focus being the campus community.

The Murray State Police Department is accredited through the Kentucky Association of Chiefs of Police and has been accredited since 2007.

Police Communications Officers

The Murray State Police Communications section can properly be called the "hub" of the Police Department. The Communications section is operated 24-hours a day and is where the vast majority of first encounters from the University and general public originate.

Police Communications Officers are state certified police dispatchers through the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training. The Murray State Police Communications section is accredited through the Kentucky Association of Chiefs of Police, the first university police agency in Kentucky to receive accreditation.

Command and supervisory staff

contact-pic
James C. Herring Jr.
Chief of Police
Murray State Police Department
jherring5@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Jeff Gentry
Assistant Chief
Murray State Police Department
jgentry@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Robert Bringhurst
Field Operations Captain
Murray State Police Department
rbringhurst@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Roy Dunaway
Support Services Captain
Murray State Police Department
rdunaway1@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Mark Johnson
C Shift Sergeant
Murray State Police Department
mjohnson3@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Rick Mehlbauer
A Shift Sergeant
Murray State Police Department
rmehlbauer@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Ryan Orr
Professional Standards Sergeant
Murray State Police Department
rorr@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Barry Rice
Detective Sergeant
Murray State Police Department
brice3@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Joey Rice
B Shift Sergeant
Murray State Police Department
grice2@murraystate.edu

All employees

Jessica Adkins
Administrative Assistant
jadkins6@murraystate.edu
270.809.5071
Francie Ray
Parking Manager
sray@murraystate.edu
270.809.5072