Public Safety and Emergency Management

The Department of Public Safety and Emergency Management is responsible for the safety and security of the Murray State University community as well as properties owned, leased, or otherwise controlled by the University. The Department provides 24 hours per day, 7 days per week service to Murray State University and is comprised of three divisions- Parking/Business, Emergency Management, and Police.

Current Emergency Alerts

The Department of Public Safety and Emergency Management is guided by the campus-oriented policing philosophy as it provides law enforcement services to the University community. Officers are mentors, counselors, enforcers, and partners. MSU Police Officers are valued members of the University community interacting with faculty, staff, students, and visitors daily.
The Murray State Police Department is staffed with 16 sworn police officers and 16 Racer Patrol (student employees with no police powers). Also located within the Police Department is a 911 Communications Center. The 911 Communications Center is staffed 24 hours per day, 7 days per week with certified Telecommunicators.
The Emergency Management Division provides oversight to matters affecting preparedness for and reaction to emergencies on campus.
The Parking/Business Division provides oversight to administrative matters within the Department as well as issuing parking permits and coordinating the enforcement of parking rules/regulations


Points of Contact

Murray State University Police- (Emergency on Campus) 911, (Non-Emergency) 270-809-2222
Department of Public Safety and Emergency Management, Chief/Director James C. Herring Jr. - 270-809-4810
Emergency Management and Environmental Safety and Health, Susan Miller - 270-809-3974
Parking Services Office, Parking Supervisor Francie Ray- 270-809-4812