Skip Navigation LinksDirectory > Administration > President's Office > President's commissions > President's Commission on Sustainability

Purpose and Charge

  1. To provide advice, counsel and assistance to the President in the formation of a campus-wide plan for increasing sustainability taking into account the mission of the institution and the return on investment, whether it be fiscal or reputational, and assisting with subsequent implementation.
  2. Identify major needs and topics of concern from various constituency groups engaged in campus sustainability efforts.
  3. Assess, support and assist with further development of the annual Sustainability Conference held on campus. 
  4. Propose policies, programs, practices and other responses to address identified needs and concerns and monitor implementation following adoption.
  5. Promote and sustain strategic focus on issues of sustainability within the University community while collaborating with campus organization with related goals and objectives.


Wayne Harper*, Director, Grounds Maintenance

Dr. Joshua Jacobs*, Chief of Staff, Office of the President

Dr. Paul Walker, Assistant Professor, Humanities and Fine Arts

Greg Mayes, Assistant Professor, Science Engineering and Technology

Dr. Mike Kemp, Professor, Science Engineering and Technology

Dr. Rett Weber, Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences

Dr. Claire Fuller, Associate Professor, Biological Sciences

Dr. Howard Whiteman, Professor/Director of the Watershed Studies Institute

Dr. Steve White, Associate Professor, Biological Sciences

Kathy Timmons, Senior Lecturer

Paula Amols, Director/Dining Services

Dr. Reika Ebert, Associate Professor, Modern Languages

Dr. Iin Handayani, Assistant Professor, Agricultural  Sciences

Dr. Pat Williams, Associate Professor, Agricultural  Sciences

O. L. Robertson, Lecturer, Agricultural  Sciences

Mike Gowen, Lecturer, Wellness and Therapeutic Sciences and Building Manager/Carr Health

Kevin Perry, Assistant Professor, Industrial and Engineering Technology

Dr. Randy Dunn **, President

*designates Co-chairs


Additional Resources

MSU recycling| Murray Environmental Student Society | 

Murray State University seeks to attain and maintain a place of leadership in all that we do. This includes leadership in environmental stewardship and sustainability on campus and in the larger community of which we are a part.

We are committed to examining the actual and potential environmental impacts associated with our activities and services in order to continually improve environmental performance.

This website is a clearinghouse for news and information about our efforts toward exemplary environmental stewardship.





Decorative image
Site Directory