Branches

The Student Government Association consists of four branches: Senate, Campus Activities Board, Judicial Board and the Residential College Association.

Executive Cabinet

The SGA Executive Board consists of the SGA President/ Student Regent, SGA Executive Vice-President/ Campus Activities Board Chairman, Vice President of Administration and Vice President of Finance. The SGA Executive Board is responsible for representing the Murray State Student Body to the administration of Murray State, and the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

contact-pic
J.T. Payne
President & Student Regent
Student Government Association
Office Hours: TBD
Curris Center
Center for Student
Involvement
2002 University Station
Murray, KY, 42071
Email
(270) 809-6883
about Tori

Tori L. Wood was elected President of the Student Government Association (SGA) at Murray State University in March 2017. She is currently pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Public Relations with a minor in Graphic Communications Technology. With her interest in working for the public alongside graphic design, Ms. Wood plans to pursue a career in the magazine industry. She is a 2014 graduate of Marshall County High School. Since her arrival to Murray State in Fall 2014, she has been actively involved on campus. She remains an active member of the Beta Nu chapter of Alpha Sigma Alpha Sorority and served as the Panhellenic Council President for the 2015-2016 term. She has also remained heavily involved in the Office of Recruitment. From August 2015 to May 2017, she worked as a student worker in the office and also served as a Student Ambassador for three consecutive semesters. During the summers of 2015 and 2016, Ms. Wood served as a Summer Orientation Counselor and was selected as a Lead Counselor for her second year. Amongst her involvement, she has used her public relations experience to serve on the PRSSA Public Relations Firm while also pursuing media literacy research. Her research along with team members was published in the first issue of The Steeplechase, an ORCA student journal, in Spring 2017. She has also incorporated her Graphic Communications minor to pursue different passions. She currently works as a University photographer for the Office of Marketing, Branding and Communications while also serving as a Page Layout Designer and Copy Editor for the Murray State News. In the summer of 2017, Ms. Wood served as an Intern for the Vuecommedia Group of Paducah, KY where she “made a difference” with VUE Magazine and “created killer content” for Social Sharkz. Ms. Wood has also remained actively involved in the Student Government Association, serving as a Senator, Chief of Staff, Vice President of Administration, and President. Lastly, Ms. Wood was honored to be crowned Ms. Murray State University in April 2017. Her term on the Murray State Board expires in 2018.

contact-pic
Kelly McIndoo
Executive Vice President
Student Government Association
Curris Center
Center for Student
Involvement
2002 University Station
Murray, KY, 42071
Email
(270) 809-6951
about Madison

Madison Jarrett is the Executive Vice President and President of the Campus Activities Board. He looks forward to serving you!

contact-pic
Bennett Estes
Vice President of Finance
Student Government Association
Curris Center
Center for Student
Involvement
2002 University Station
Murray, KY, 42071
Email
(270) 809-6951
about Rachel
contact-pic
Kelsey Calhoun
Vice President of Administration
Student Government Association
Curris Center
Center for Student
Involvement
2002 University Station
Murray, KY, 42071
Email
(270) 809-6951
about Bailey

Senate

Student Senate Logo

Students involved in the Student Senate gain experience in Murray State’s legislative process. Forty-six senators comprise the Student Senate: three from each of the five academic colleges and from the Hutson School of Agriculture, two from the School of Nursing and each of the eight residential colleges, eight “at-large” senators elected through a campus-wide online election each April, and two freshman senators elected in September by the freshman class. Aside from passing legislation at its weekly meetings, the Student Senate provides informational brochures, the campus planner, voter registration and a campus voice (student regent) to the board of regents. To qualify as a senator, you must maintain a 2.5 cumulative grade point standing during the term of office.

Within the Student Senate there are several leadership positions available known as, Senate Chairs. The Senate Chairs are the chairmen for the standing Senate Committees: University Affairs, Election Ways & Means, Government Relations, Public Relations and Diversity & Inclusion. Each Senate Chair runs a committee of Senators that help investigate issues, create legislation, and work on ways to better campus through their respective areas. The individual that oversees the Senate Chairs is the Chief of Staff, which is selected by the President to serve at their will.

Senate Chairs

 
contact-pic
Jayda Polivick
Chief of Staff
jpolivick@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Marie Young
Election Ways and Means Director
hyoung7@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Sam Vick
Diversity & Inclusion Director
svick@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Andrew Kane
Government Relations Director
a8kane3337@gmail.com
contact-pic
Allie Morgan
Public Relations Director
amorgan17@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
VACANT
Multimedia Director
APPLY TODAY!
contact-pic
Claudia Burcham
University Affairs Director
cburcham1@murraystate.edu

At Large Senators

 
contact-pic
Kara Marr
Senator At Large
kmarr@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Bethany Waggoner
Senator At Large
bwaggoner@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Rob Dawson
Senator At Large
jdawson3@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Nevan Houser
Senator At Large
nhouser2@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Aaron Martin
Senator At Large
amartin37@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Nolan Mullican
Senator At Large
nmullican@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Suphat Yoopensuk
Senator At Large
syoopensuk@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Chris Reed
Senator At Large
lreed10@murraystate.edu

Academic College Senators

 
contact-pic
Landon Hawkins
College of Business Senator
jhawkins18@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Tanner Weatherbee
College of Business Senator
tweatherbee@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Megan Rohrer
College of Business Senator
mrohrer1@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Alyssa Brunston
College of Education and Human Services Senator
abrunston1@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Abbye Melton
College of Education and Human Services Senator
amelton9@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Barrett Blackburn
College of Education and Human Services
bblackburn2@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Tommy Copeland
Hutson School of Agriculture Senator
tcopeland3@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Claire Schmitt
Hutson School of Agriculture Senator
cschmitt@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
John Winchester
Hutson School of Agriculture Senator
jwinchester2@gmail.com
contact-pic
Emily Weber
Nursing Senator
eweber5@murraystate.edu
 
contact-pic
Macy Urhahn
Nursing Senator
murhahn@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Erica Holt
Nursing Senator
eholt3@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Fletcher Boarman
Humanities and Fine Arts Senator
fboarman@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Cole Manion
Humanities and Fine Arts Senator
cmanion1@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
VACANT
Humanities and Fine Arts Senator
APPLY TODAY!
contact-pic
Cody Hayden
Science, Engineering and Technology Senator
chayden10@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Lucas Hill
Science, Engineering and Technology Senator
lhill11@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Matthew Skinner
Science, Engineering and Technology
rskinner4@murraystate.edu

Residential College Senators

 
contact-pic
Heaven Meredith
Clark Residential College Senator
hmeredith@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Emily Whitaker
Clark Residential College Senator
ewhitaker3@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Jessica Stoner
Elizabeth Residential College Senator
jstoner2@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Madison Vowels
Elizabeth Residential College Senator
mvowels3@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Makala Wright
Hart Residential College Senator
mwright22@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Cole Crocker
Hart Residential College Senator
ccrocker3@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Keenan Lautner
Hester Residential College Senator
klautner1@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Taylor Moses
Hester Residential College Senator
jmoses2@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Ali Eader
Regents Residential College Senator
aeader@gmail.com
contact-pic
Chris Jackson
Regents Residential College Senator
cjackson51@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Vacant
Richmond Residential College Senator
Apply Today!
contact-pic
Vacant
Richmond Residential College Senator
Apply Today!
contact-pic
Camryn Clift
Springer/Franklin Residential College Senator
cclift@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Imara Peralta
Springer/Franklin Residential College Senator
iperalta@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Nicholas Bohannon
White Residential College Senator
nbohannon@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Warren Norman
White Residential College Senator
wnorman@murraystate.edu

Campus Activities Board

CAB Logo

The Campus Activities Board is composed of 15 chairpersons with committees who plan and promote activities for students and the community. The chairpersons are students appointed by SGA each spring and the Residential College Activities chair, which is elected in the spring. All members must maintain a 2.5 cumulative grade point average while in office. Activities provided by the CAB include concerts, lectures, comedy and musical acts, the Ms. Murray State Pageant, Homecoming parade and events, spontaneous events in the Curris Center, multicultural events, freshman and spring weeks, plus much more.

Homecoming Chair

The position is a dual position that coordinates two of the most popular events that CAB does. In the fall the chair is in charge of all SGA Homecoming Events, including the parade and the election of Homecoming King and Queen. In the spring, the position is in charge of Murray-Madness, which is a one day event that is typically outdoors. The event ranges from chair-to-chair, but it is usually carnival theme, and is hosted in late spring.

contact-pic
Olivia Robertson
CAB Homecoming Chair
orobertson1@murraystate.edu

Innovative Acts Chair

This position provides the students with free events that are mainly for entertainment or promotional value. These events can be done in the Curris Center, Winslow, or anywhere else on campus. The chair will also work with entertainment agents to bring acts to campus, such as the campus favorite, Tom DeLuca, The Hypnotist. The chair will use a combination of creative inexpensive ideas along with contracted agents throughout the year. Popular events hosted by this position through the years have been wax hands, personalized signs, and laser tag.

contact-pic
Vacant
CAB Innovative Acts Chair
Apply Today!

Membership Chair

This position communicates with all members of the CAB. He/she is the liaison between the chairs of the committees and the members that wish to be involved on the committees (CABbies). This position should also keep the chairs responsible for using there “CABbies” for more than just working events. The membership chair is pivotal for the staffing of events and keeping an adequate number of CABbies.

contact-pic
Vacant
CAB Membership Chair
Application

Ms. Murray State Scholarship Pageant Chair

This position is responsible for coordinating all details of the pageant experience for contestants, participants, and patrons. The Miss Murray State Pageant is meant to be done as professionally as possible, to give Murray State a chance to show the public some of the quality women we have to offer. The winner from Ms. Murray State goes on to represent Murray State in the Kentucky Mountain Laurel Festival, as well as many local events.

contact-pic
Vacant
CAB Ms. Murray State Scholarship Pageant Chair
Apply Today!

Diversity Chair (2)

This position is responsible for producing programs that bring people of all backgrounds together. Murray State University is a diverse learning institution, and this position is responsible for reflecting that in their programming. This chair often times works hand-in-hand with the Office of Multicultural Initiatives, Student Leadership & Inclusive Excellence, to help fund fun, diverse programming.

contact-pic
Vacant
CAB Diversity Chair
Apply Today!
contact-pic
Vacant
CAB Diversity Chair
Application

Performance Chair

This position coordinates all SGA/CAB sponsored performance based programming. More commonly, this chair is responsible for seeking out student opinions of concerts and lectures, as well as making informed decisions on what types of concerts and lectures SGA/CAB will sponsor. In the past, SGA/CAB has brought the following performances to campus:

  • Kanye West (2004)
  • Maroon 5 (2005)
  • John Mayer (2007)
  • Maya Angelou (2011)
  • Bill Nye the Science Guy (2014)
  • R.J. Mitte (2015)
  • Old Dominion (2015)
  • Todrick Hall (2015)
  • Martin Luther King, III (2016)
  • Anthony Ervin (2016)
  • Stephen A. Smith (2017)
contact-pic
Vacant
CAB Performances Chair
Apply Today!

Publicity Chair (3)

This position entails the publicity and marketing of our programming. From the design of fliers to social media management, these individuals are responsible for all publicity ideas for CAB events. There are three chairs to help break up the responsibility of publicizing every event.

contact-pic
Vacant
CAB Publicity Chair
Apply Today!
contact-pic
Vacant
CAB Publicity Chair
Apply Today!
contact-pic
Vacant
CAB Publicity Chair
Application

Residential College Association Chair

This position is to communicate to CAB events that the Residential Colleges are planning and implementing. In addition, it is the RCA Chair's responsibility to keep the RCA informed on the programs that CAB is planning.

contact-pic
Steffan Jones
CAB RCA Programming Chair
sjones65@murraystate.edu

Showcasing Chair

This position is in charge of recruiting talented students across Murray State that wish to showcase their talent (music, comedy, etc.) to the student body. In addition, our Showcasing Chair is responsible for selecting movies to be played in the Curris Center Theatre. Some examples of previous events have been a "Battle of the Bands", valentines serenade in the Curris Center, and several movie series.

contact-pic
Vacant
CAB Showcasing Chair
Apply Today!

Freshman Council

The Freshman Council is a Student Senate Committee, that is chaired by the Freshman Senators elected each Fall. The purpose of the Freshman Council is to have a mechanism for Freshmen to voice their concerns, plan Freshman oriented programming, and become acclimated to SGA in a relaxed environment. Unlike the Freshmen Senators, council members don't have to run for their position, they are instead selected via applications. To apply, contact Lauren or Lindsey Wagner, freshman Senators.

contact-pic
Lauren Wagner
Freshman Senator, Freshman Council Co-Chair
lwagner3@murraystate.edu
contact-pic
Lindsey Wagner
Freshman Senator, Freshman Council Co-Chair
lwagner2@murraystate.edu

Judicial Board

Judicial Board Logo

The Judicial Board is the judicial body of SGA. To be one of the ten members, applicants must have at least sophomore status, a 2.5 grade point average, and not be an officer or member of any other branch of SGA. These positions are appointed in April of each year. At its meetings, the board reviews parking tickets and hears appeals.

contact-pic
Paxton Crider
Judicial Board Chief Justice
pcrider4@murraystate.edu

Residential College Association

RCA Logo

The Residential College Association is a branch of the Student Government Association that oversees the Residential Colleges. This branch is responsible for shared governance between the Residential Colleges, as well as programming. The RCA also represents our Residential Colleges at residential hall conferences.

There are many ways to be involved in the RCA, as an executive member, RCA college representative, or through the individual Residential College Councils. If you are interested, check with your Residential College Director for meeting times and more information.

contact-pic
Becca Weyerbacher
Residential College Association President
rweyerbacher@murraystate.edu