Student Government Association

About SGA

The Student Government Association has four branches: Student Senate, Campus Activities Board, Judicial Board and the Residential College Association. Through these components of the Student Government Association, we can make Murray State University a great experience during our time here.

2018 - 2019 SGA Strategic Initiatives 

The Executive Council of the 82nd Student Government Association has reviewed the overall needs of students and have identified specific areas within campus life where specific priorities and initiatives should be placed. Furthermore, the 82nd Senate unanimously voted to make this an official SGA document on April 25, 2018. For more information, you can view the document by clicking HERE.

Current Constitutional Amendment Proposal

The Executive Council, along with the members of the 82nd Senate have voted 40-0 to approve an amendment to the SGA Constitution. To approve this amendment, a vote by the whole student body must occur first. Voting will take place Monday, September 17 (12:01 AM) through Tuesday, September 18, 2018 (11:59 PM) on MyGate. Please find a copy of the constitutional amendment by clicking here.

Click the arrow for more information

Governing Documents


SGA Constitution

SGA By-Laws

CAB Operating Principles

Judicial Board Operating Principles

Residential College Association Operating Principles

History of SGA

“The Student Organization was first organized in 1936, and on May 11 of that year, the first Constitution for the Organization was written and ratified. The purpose of the Student Organization was to promote character and initiative through the responsibilities of effective organization and a featured purpose of the Organization was to expand and promote interest in student affairs, to provide the means for the clear expression of student opinion and its presentation to the administration when advisable, to unify and systematize campus activities, to increase and clearly define student responsibilities, and to foster in every manner possible student character and initiative.

Dr. Forrest Pogue, a former student and then a professor at Murray State and a distinguished historian, was helpful in writing or formulating the original Constitution.

Because of the outstanding efforts of students and faculty advisors, the 1937 Shield was dedicated to the Student Organization. In later years, the students changed the name to the Student Government. In 1968, the Constitution was rewritten and continues to serve as it has through the years as the effective voice of the students working in harmony with the administration and acting as coordinator of student- campus activities.

In the 60’s, the Student Class Assembly consisting of the individual class officers, was made a facet of the Student Organization or the Student Government.

The Student Council is composed of the class representatives in addition to the President, the Vice President, the Secretary and the Treasurer.

Also, in 1966, a Judicial Board was formulated and approved by the Board of Regents and by the student body.”

Woods, R. H. (1973). Murray State University: Fifty Years of Progress. Retrieved from


Interested in getting involved in SGA?  Apply for a Senate Chair, Judicial Board, CAB, and vacant Senate positions today!  Applications available in the Center for Student Involvement or by visiting the Applications page!

Letter from the SGA President

Hello Racers,

Welcome to the official webpage of the Murray State University Student Government Association! My name is J.T. Payne, Student Body President and Student Regent here at Murray State University. I am honored to serve you, the best of the Commonwealth, for the 2018-2019 academic year.

My campaign for president was based off of two main ideas: unity and progress. In a world where we must define our differences, it is my goal that those involved in Student Government focus on our similarities and work together in making Murray State the best institution in the State of Kentucky. Student government is not a partisan organization and one of my favorite parts about it is the fact that those who fall on opposite ends of the political spectrum can work hand in hand to create a positive collegiate experience for thousands of students.

The Student Government Association is the main agent of change for students at most colleges and universities. We have 4 main branches as outlined in our constitution: Student Senate, Campus Activities Board, Student Judicial Board and the Residential College Association. I encourage you to explore our governing documents (found on this website) to see how they work and why each branch is important.

If you have any questions, comments, concerns, or suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact me. You can reach me at (270)809-6883,, or in the Center for Student Involvement located on the first floor of the Curris Center. Our weekly SGA meetings are open to the public, and we welcome all students who wish to voice their opinion on any topic concerning Murray State. The Student Senate meetings are held on Wednesdays at 4:30 PM in the Barkley Room on the third floor of the Curris Center.

Martin Luther King Jr. once stated, “The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.” It is my personal commitment to be a strong and consistent voice for you, even in those difficult timesI ask that you hold me accountable throughout this year as we push Murray State to be the best that it can be.

Best Regards,
J.T. Payne

Student Government Association President and Student Regent