Faculty

Amid their quests for knowledge, our Department of English and Philosophy faculty have picked up a few stories of their own. They come from the United States, China, Korea and Ireland. They have volunteered for the Peace Corps and earned Fulbright Scholarships. They have collected beached marine animal carcasses, dug graves, repaired pool tables, delivered hair styling products, worked on off-shore oil rigs, painted dorm rooms, made chocolate bunnies. One was the first person to walk into Disney World in 2009. One grew up next door to the Gambino family. Yet another hitchhiked 8,000 miles on $125—in 1971. And yet another played the bagpipes at Jerry Garcia's funeral.

At the core of the search for knowledge is passion: for words, stories, ideas. Our faculty members are ready to share their expertise with you, and to set you on the path to your own adventures.

Meet our faculty

Sue Sroda
Sue Sroda
Chair
Areas of Expertise: TESOL, Linguistics,
ESL/EFL Teacher Training
Faculty Hall 7C-09
msroda@murraystae.edu
270.809.4715
 
Josh Adair
Josh Adair
Assistant Professor of English
Director, Racer Writing Center
Coordinator, Gender and Diversity Studies
Areas of Expertise: Modern and
Contemporary British Literature, Gender Studies
Faculty Hall 7B-14
jadair1@murraystate.edu
270.809.4540
 
Constance Alexander
Constance Alexander
Faculty Hall 7C-15
calexander9@murraystate.edu
270.809.4539
 
Mike Arneson
Mike Arneson
Lecturer
Areas of Expertise: TESOL, Professional Writing
Faculty Hall 7A-1
marneson1@murraystate.edu
270.809.6300
 
Deborah Bell
Deborah Bell
Lecturer
Co-director, Purchase Area Writing Project
Co-coordinator, English Education
Areas of Expertise: English Education,
Composition, Writing Instruction
Faculty Hall 7B-07
dbell@murraystate.edu
270.809.4725
 
Kevin Binfield
Kevin Binfield
Professor of English
Coordinator, Graduate Studies
Areas of Expertise: British Romanticism,
18th- and 19th-Century British Women's Literature,
Laboring-Class Writing, Textual Scholarship
Faculty Hall 7C-05
kbinfield@murraystate.edu
270.809.4541
 
Andrew Black
Andrew Black
Assistant Professor of English
Areas of Expertise: Critical Theory,
History of Rhetorical Theory,
Long 18th-Century Literature, Philosophy,
Religion and Rhetoric; Media Studies
Faculty Hall 7B-09
ablack9@murraystate.edu
270.809.4718
 
Tim Carter
Tim Carter
Adjunct Faculty
Areas of Expertise: Creative Writing,
Rhetoric and Composition, Humanities,
American Short Story, Southern Literature
Faculty Hall 7A-4
Email Address
270.809.2406
 
Alicia Carthell
Alicia Carthell
Senior Lecturer
Areas of Expertise: Linguistics and Technical Communication,
Cultural Competence for Technical Communication, Rhetoric
Faculty Hall 7B-11
Email Address
270.809.4270
 
Gina Claywell
Gina Claywell
Professor of English
Areas of Expertise: Rhetoric and Composition,
Early American Literature,
Nineteenth-Century British Literature
Faculty Hall 7B-06
gclaywell@murraystate.edu
270.809.4279
 
Barbara Cobb
Barbara Cobb
Professor of English
Areas of Expertise: Shakespeare, Early Modern Drama,
17th-Century British Poetry, Continental Renaissance Literature
Faculty Hall 7B-15
bcobb@murraystate.edu
270.809.4538
 
Judy Crofton
Judy Crofton
Senior Lecturer
Areas of Expertise: English Composition,
Humanities, American Feminist Literature
Faculty Hall 7B-09
jcrofton1@murraystate.edu
270.809.4724
 
Julie Cyzewski
Julie Cyzewski
Assistant Professor of English
Areas of Expertise: 20th and 21st Century
transnational and diasporic literature,
postcolonial theory, media studies
Faculty Hall 7B-1
jcyzewski@murraystate.edu
270.809.4846
 
Dean Davenport
Dean Davenport
Adjunct Faculty
Areas of Expertise: Ethics,
Business Ethics, Logic, History of Philosophy
 
Laura Dawkins
Laura Dawkins
Professor of English
Areas of Expertise: American Literature,
Modernism, Race Studies, Gender Studies
Faculty Hall 7B-08
ldawkins@murraystate.edu
270.809.3418
 
Joshua Easterling
Joshua Easterling
Assistant Professor of English
Areas of Expertise: Late-medieval English language,
literature, and culture
Faculty Hall 7B-02
jeasterling@murraystate.edu
270.809.3064
 
Warren Edminster
Warren Edminster
Professor of English
Director, Honors College
Areas of Expertise: Medieval Literature,
Professional and Technical Writing
Lowry 304-A
wedminster@murraystate.edu
270.809.5274
 
Rory Goggins
Rory Goggins
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Coordinator, Philosophy program
Areas of Expertise: History of Ancient Philosophy,
Philosophy of Religion
Faculty Hall 7C-19
rgoggins@murraystate.edu
270.809.4549
 
Ron Hopper
Ron Hopper
Adjunct Faculty
Areas of Expertise: Composition,
Distance Learning, Humanities
Faculty Hall 7A-4
rhopper3@murraystate.edu
270.809.2406
 
Carrie Jerrell
Carrie Jerrell
Assistant Professor of English
Associate Director, MFA Program in Creative Writing
Coordinator, Undergraduate Creative Writing
Areas of Expertise: Creative Writing: Poetry,
Creative Writing: Nonfiction, Modern & Contemporary Poetry
Faculty Hall 7B-04
cjerrell@murraystate.edu
270.809.4723
 
Timothy Johns
Timothy Johns
Associate Professor of English
Coordinator, Jesse Stuart Fellowship
Areas of Expertise: World Literature and Cinema,
South African Writing, Post-colonial Studies
Faculty Hall 7C-06
tjohns@murraystate.edu
270.809.4722
 
Rusty Jones
Rusty Jones
Associate Professor of English
Chair, Murray Shakespeare Festival
Areas of Expertise: Shakespeare,
English Renaissance Poetry and Drama,
Renaissance and Restoration Satire
Faculty Hall 7B-01
wjones1@murraystate.edu
270.809.2397
 
Bernard Lewis
Bernard Lewis
Adjunct Faculty
Areas of Expertise: Composition, Humanities
Faculty Hall 7A-05
blewis@murraystate.edu
270.809.4726
 
Cara Mathis
Cara Mathis
Lecturer
Areas of Expertise: Western Humanities,
Composition, Research, Writing Across the Disciplines
Faculty Hall 7C-15
cmathis@murraystate.edu
270.809.4539
 
Sally McIntosh
Sally McIntosh
Lecturer
Areas of Expertise: Composition and Rhetoric
Faculty Hall 7B-20
smcintosh@murraystate.edu
270.809.4728
 
Michael Morgan
Michael Morgan
Associate Professor of English
Co-coordinator: English Education
Areas of Expertise: English Education, TESOL
Faculty Hall 7B-18
mmorgan@murraystate.edu
270.809.4536
 
John Muenzberg
John Muenzberg
Lecturer of Philosophy
Areas of Expertise: British Empiricism,
Early Modern Philosophy, Ethics, Humanities
Faculty Hall 7C-18
jmuenzberg@murraystate.edu
270.809.4542
 
Ann Neelon
Ann Neelon
Professor of English
Director, MFA Program in Creative Writing
Areas of Expertise: Poetry and Poetics,
Contemporary World Literature
Faculty Hall 7B-17
aneelon@murraystate.edu
270.809.4713
 
Danielle Nielsen
Danielle Nielsen
Assistant Professor of English
Areas of Expertise: Rhetoric and Composition,
Professional and Technical Communication,
Victorian and 20th-Century British Literature,
Literature of the Empire, Gender and Language,
Print Culture and New Media
Faculty Hall 7B-5
dnielsen@murraystate.edu
270.809.2407
 
Jeffrey Osborne
Jeff Osborne
Associate Professor of English
Areas of Expertise: Early American Literature, Humanities
Faculty Hall 7B-11
josborne@murraystate.edu
270.809.4544
 
Ho Ryong Park
Ho Ryong Park
Assistant Professor of English (TESOL)
Areas of Expertise: TESOL, Computer-Assisted Language,
Learning and Teaching Second Language Literacies,
Reading Strategies
Faculty Hall 7B-21
hpark16@murraystate.edu
270.809.4532
 
Dale Ray Phillips
Dale Ray Phillips
Assistant Professor
Areas of Expertise: Creative Writing,
Humanities,
Rhetoric and Composition
Faculty Hall 7C-13
dphillips@murraystate.edu
270.809.4710
 
Helen Roulston
Helen Roulston
Associate Professor of English
Areas of Expertise: Film and Literature,
History of Cinema,
English Composition and Research
Faculty Hall 7B-10
hroulston@murraystate.edu
270.809.4712
 
JuYoung Song
Juyoung Song
Assistant Professor of English
Coordinator, Undergraduate TESOL Programs
Areas of Expertise: Sociolinguistics,
Second Language Teacher Education
Faculty Hall 7B-03
jsong2@murraystate.edu
270.809.2409
 
Latricia Trites
Latricia Trites
Professor of TESOL and English
Director, TESOL Programs
Areas of Expertise: Reading and Writing
Instruction and Assessment,
ESL/EFL Teacher Training,
Applied Linguistics
Faculty Hall 7C-07
ltrites@murraystate.edu
270.809.4721
 
Paul Walker
Paul Walker
Associate Professor of English
Co-director, Purchase Area Writing Project
Coordinator, First-Year Composition
Areas of Expertise: Professional and
Technical Writing, Rhetoric, New Media
Faculty Hall 7C-20
pwalker1@murraystate.edu
270.809.4533
 
W. Keith Winkler
W. Keith Winkler
Lecturer
Areas of Expertise: English Composition,
History of the English Language
Faculty Hall 7A-6
wwinkler@murraystate.edu
270.809.4726
 
Saihua Xia
Saihua Xia
Associate Professor of English
Areas of Expertise: ESL/EFL Teacher Training,
SLA, Pragmatics,
Cognitive Approaches to Second Language Learning
Faculty Hall 7B-12
sxia@murraystate.edu
270.809.4548