Reading, Writing, and Literacy Summer Program

This program is designed to provide students in grades K-12 with a positive reading experience. The program is especially appropriate for students who are having difficulty learning to read or need assistance developing or enhancing reading comprehension, vocabulary, oral reading, and study skills. Tutoring is provided by Murray State graduate-level reading students.

RWL Summer Program Preview ImageOfficial Program Flyer

"The MSU Reading/Writing & Literacy Program has been successful in helping children improve their reading ability," said Dr. Chhanda Islam, a professor with the Department of Early Childhood and Elementary Education. "The individualized attention children receive from their teacher and the focus on a successful reading experience often results in more enthusiasm for reading and helps children overcome reading difficulties."

2018 Application Deadline
Monday, June 4

2018 Parent-Student Orientation
Friday, June 8
1-3 PM
240 Alexander Hall (Auditorium)

2018 Summer Program Dates
Friday, June 8
Monday, June 11
Tuesday, June 12
Thursday, June 14
Friday, June 15
Monday, June 18
Tuesday, June 19
Thursday, June 21
Friday, June 22
Monday, June 25
Tuesday, June 26

1-3 PM
2205 Alexander Hall

Program Cost
$60
Please, click here to make your payment.
If financial need exists, fees may be reduced according to a sliding scale.

Contact Information
For program questions:
Dr. Chhanda Islam
Program Coordinator
cislam@murraystate.edu
270-809-6868

For payment questions:
Ms. Emily Smith
Administrative Assistant
esmith50@murraystate.edu
270-809-2500