Skip Navigation LinksAcademics > Colleges/Schools and Departments > College of Humanities and Fine Arts > History > Faculty

Faculty

Dr. Charlotte Beahan
Professor of History
PhD, Columbia University
MA, Columbia University
BA, Michigan State University

Research Interest: East Asia, women's history, world civilizations

cbeahan@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6577 
Office: Faculty Hall 6B-18
 



 
Ted Franklin Belue
Senior Lecturer of History
MA, Murray State University
BS, Murray State University
AA, Florida College

Research Interest: American frontier, native Americans, environment

tbelue@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.5455
Office: Faculty Hall 6B-16
 



 
Dr. J. Duane Bolin
Professor of History
PhD, University of Kentucky
MA, University of Kentucky
BA, Belmont University

Research Interest: American history, gilded age and progressive era, Kentucky history

duane.bolin@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6578
Office: Faculty Hall 6B-15
 



 
Dr. Kathy Callahan
Department Chair
Associate Professor of History

Research Interest: Modern European History, Renaissance Reformation, Medieval Europe, Early Modern Europe, British History

kcallahan@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6580
Office: Faculty Hall 6B-19
 



 




 



 
Dr. Kenneth Carstens
Professor Emeritus
Phd, Washington University, St. Louis
AM, Washington University, St. Louis
BS, Central Michigan University

Research Interest: Colonial and Frontier History of the Trans-Appalachian Region, George Rogers Clark's Fort Jefferson,Cultural Resource Management

kenneth.carstens@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6585
Office: Faculty Hall 6B-04
 



 
Dr. Brian Clardy
Assistant Professor of History
PhD, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
MA, Murray State University
BA, The University of Tennessee at Martin

Research Interest: World Religions, American Politics, International Relations, U.S. Diplomatic History since 1900

bclardy@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6574
Office: Faculty Hall 6B-20
 



Dr. Zackery M. Heern
Assistant Professor of History
PhD, University of Utah
MA, University of Utah
BA, UCLA

Research Interests: Middle East, Islam, Iran, Iraq, Islamic Movements,
Shi‘i Islam

zheern@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6585
Office: Faculty Hall 6B-4
Webpage: The Middle East and Islam



Dr. Marjorie Hilton
Assistant Professor of History
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
 
Research Interests:  Revolutionary Russia, Soviet Union, modern Europe, Consumer culture, Gender, Film.
 
mhilton@murraystate.edu
Telephone:  270.809.6579
Office:  Faculty Hall 6B-5



 
   
Dr. James Humphreys
Associate Professor of History

Research Interest: African American history, early American history, government, modern European history, Southern US history

jhumphreys@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6573
Office: Faculty Hall 6B-09
 
   





Dr. William Mulligan Jr.
Professor of History
PhD, Clark University
AM, Clark University
AB, Assumption College

Research Interest: Irish Diaspora, early America, U.S. social and industrial history

bill.mulligan@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6571
Office: Faculty Hall 6B-06
 



 
Dr. David Pizzo
Associate Professor of History

Research Interest: German history, modern European history, African history, the World Wars, imperialism, genocide

dpizzo@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6584
Office: Faculty Hall 6B-20
 



 
Taufiq Rashid
Lecturer of History

Research Interest: American government, U.S. foreign policy, world civilizations

trashid@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6586
Office: Faculty Hall 6B-05
 



 
Dr. William Schell Jr.
Professor of History
PhD, University of North Carolina
MA, University of North Carolina
BA, University of North Carolina

Research Interest: Mexican history, Latin-American history, film, foreign relations

wschell@murraystate.edu
Telephone: 270.809.6572
Office: Faculty Hall 6B-11
 



 
Dr. Terry Strieter
Professor Emeritus of History
Phd, University of California - Santa Barbara
MA, California State University - Long Beach
BA, California State University - Long Beach

Research Interest: modern French history (1789-present), social history, crime and police history

tstrieter@murraystate.edu
 



 

Decorative image
Site Directory