Take Your Place in the Murray State Tradition
President's Commission on Student Retention
Plaque with MSU shield

Skip Navigation LinksDirectory > Administration > President's Office > President's commissions > President's Commission on Student Retention

Purpose and Charge

  1. To provide advice, counsel and assistance to the Murray State University Vice President for Student Affairs and Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs in the formation of a comprehensive, strategic and cohesive campus-wide plan for the retention of students and assist with subsequent implementation.
  2. To provide leadership for planning, developing, assessing and improving Murray State University’s retention efforts across all areas of the University in order to meet retention and graduation rate goals established by the Council on Postsecondary Education and the Murray State University Board of Regents.
  3. To identify best retention practices centered around policies, services and programs across academic and student affairs units.
  4. To address and remedy identified needs and concerns and monitor implementation and effectiveness of new and existing retention initiatives.
  5. To promote and sustain strategic focus of the University community on issues of retention and graduation rates.


Dr. Angie Trzepacz           Director of University Counseling Services

Dr. Barbara Cobb            Associate Professor, Dept of English and Philosophy, Coordinator of Academic Advising

Benjamin Stinnett              Retention Specialist

Dr. Bonnie Higginson        Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs

Chastity Richmond            Retention Specialist

Dan Lavit                         Assistant Dean, Continuing Education and Outreach, Director Distance Learning

Dr. Don Robertson          Vice President for Student Affairs

Dr. Edward Thome          Chair, Associate Professor of Mathematics and Statistics

Frederic Dietz                  Executive Director for Enrollment Management

Fugen Muscio                  Coordinator of Institutional Research

Dr. James Mantooth*       Director of Retention Services

Jeremiah Johnson             SGA President and Student Regent

Jessica Evans                   Administrative Assistant I, Health Sciences and Human Services

Dr. Joshua Jacobs**       Chief of Staff, Office of the President

Judith Lyle                       Interim Associate Director for Health Services

Lana Jennings                  Director of Community College

Mike Young                    Associate Vice President for Student Affairs

Olympia Stewart             Coordinator of Academic Transitions, Advising and Advising Center Operations

Dr. Paul Lucko               Associate Professor, Div. of Criminal Justice, Chair of Residential College Heads Council

Peggy Whaley                Coordinator of Academic Transitions, Advising and Advising Center Communications

Dr. Randy Dunn**         President

Dr. Renae Duncan*        Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education

Dr. Ross Meloan            Director Career Services

Dr. Timothy Todd          Dean, College of Business

Tracy Roberts                Registrar

*designates Co-chairs


Decorative image
Site Directory