About the JMC department

The MISSION of the Department of Journalism and Mass Communications is to prepare students with a body of knowledge and a system of intellectual inquiry, scholarship and training for careers in which they are accountable to:
  • the public interest for their knowledge, ethics, competence and service
  • citizens, clients and consumers for their competencies and the quality of their work; and
  • employers for their performance.
Our students understand the VALUE of ...
1.    Truth, accuracy, and fairness
2.    Freedom of expression
3.    Ethical thought and practices
4.    Historical perspective on the role of the mass media in civil society
5.    Diversity of the workforce and audiences

We expect our students to LEARN HOW TO ...
1.    Write clearly and accurately
2.    Use media technology appropriate to the task
3.    Apply media theory in presenting images and information
4.    Engage in research and critical evaluation
5.    Understand data and statistics

6.    Think creatively and analytically


Areas of Study

The Department of Journalism and Mass Communications was established in 1975 and is part of the College of Business and Public Affairs at Murray State University. It is one of only 110 programs in the United States (with one in Chile) accredited by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC). The department offers four majors leading to a bachelor's degree: advertising, journalism (electronic or print option), public relations and television production. The department also offers minors in advertising and journalism.
In addition to career-oriented classes students are required to follow a liberal arts program that is designed to give them a broad educational base.



Murray State has offered journalism courses since 1927. In 1968 a full major was instituted leading to bachelor's and master's degrees. Three majors have been added since 1968. The programs are updated frequently. In 1987 the Accrediting Council for Education in Journalism and Mass Communications approved accreditation for all departmental programs. The department received re-accreditation in 1992, 1998 and 2004.



The main classrooms and offices for all majors except television production are located in historic Wilson Hall, the second oldest building on campus. Wilson Hall also houses The Murray State News, the award-winning student newspaper.
Broadcasting facilities are located on the eighth floor of the Price Doyle Fine Arts Center.



In addition to ACEJMC, the department is also affiliated with the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (AEJMC), American Society of Journalism School Administrators (ASJSA), West Kentucky Press Association (WKPA), Kentucky Press Association (KPA), Kentucky Intercollegiate Press Association (KIPA), College Media Advisers (CMA), American Advertising Federation (AAF), and Public Relations Society of America (PRSA).
Broadcast affiliations include the Broadcast Education Association, National Association of Broadcasters, Radio-Television News Directors, Kentucky Broadcasters Association, and International Radio-Television Society.

The department has active student chapters of the following organizations: the American Advertising Federation; Public Relations Student Society of America; and Kappa Tau Alpha, honorary journalism fraternity.