Take Your Place in the Murray State Tradition
Social Science Minor
Student in class

Skip Navigation LinksAcademics > Colleges/Schools and Departments > Jesse D. Jones College of Science, Engineering and Technology > Programs > Geosciences > Programs > Social Science Minor

Social Science Minor

Chair: George W. Kipphut.

Faculty: Cetin, Homsey, Hong, Kipphut, Ortman, Wesler, Yorke, Zhang.



Social Science Minor.........................................................24 hrs

Open only to majors in economics, geoscience, history, or political science who seek secondary certification in social studies. ECO 231, GSC 110, HIS 221, POL 140, SOC 133; and six hours of upper level courses (300 or above) from the social science disciplines with approval of advisor. Courses required for a major may not be counted toward the minor; substitutions must be from a social science discipline other than the major and be approved by the advisor; and requirements for certification for teaching secondary school social studies, grades 8 through 12 through the College of Education must also be met. Six hours must be upper-level courses completed in residence at Murray State University.

Students interested in the program should contact:
Kit W. Wesler
Advisor, Social Science Minor
Department of Geosciences
334 Blackburn Hall
Murray State University
Murray KY 42071

E-mail: kwesler@murraystate.edu
270-809-3276 (fax) 

Decorative image
Site Directory